Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee meets annually and provides an external expertise on the activities of the LABEX. It evaluates the level of the research compared to the international state of art. It proposes recommendations and strategic orientations for research in the concerned fields, it checks the scientific productivity and contributes to the follow-up of the LABEX.

The Scientific Council chaired by Christian Person (IMT Atlantic, France) is composed of external scientific members:

  • 4 international leaders in academic research related to the LABEX research areas,
  • 4 industry professionals (THALES, Ariane Group, Horiba Scientific, SAFRAN…), internationally recognized for their excellence and expertise in the LABEX research areas,
  • 2 directors of LABEX : First TF (IDF) et EMC3 (Caen)
  • 1 representative of University of Limoges, 1 of University of Poitiers and 2 of CNRS
  • 2 invited members: Alexandre Legris, Deputy Scientific Director INC and Laurent Nicolas, Deputy Scientific Director INSIS

Chairman of the Scientific Committee

Christian Person

Interim Director of LabSTICC - Institut Mines-Telecom (IMT) Bretagne

Christian Person received his Ph.D. in electronics from the University of Brest, Brest, France in 1994. Since 1991, he has been an assistant professor in the microwave department of the École Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications de Bretagne, Brest, France. In 2003, he became a professor at the Institut Télécom/Telecom Bretagne, Brest, France, where he is currently conducting research in the “Laboratory of Information and Communication Sciences and Technologies” (Lab-STICC). He is involved in the development of new technologies for microwave and millimeter wave applications and systems. Its activities are particularly focused on the design of passive functions (filters, couplers) and antennas, providing original solutions in terms of synthesis techniques, analysis and optimization procedures as well as technological implementation (foam, plastic, LTCC,..). He is involved in various French and European research programs on SoC/SiP antennas and reconfigurable structures for smart systems.


Hervé Maillotte

Research Director  Femto-ST Institute, Besançon

Jean Montagne

Head of Department Cilas, Orléans

Maryline Guilloux-Viry

Director ScanMAT, Rennes

Jean-Louis Cazaux

Innovation Manager Thales Alenia Space, Toulouse

Jean-Michel Bouler

Professor CEISAM UMR CNRS, Nantes

Phillipe de Bettignies

R&D Manager, Raman micro-nano spectroscopy Horiba Scientific, Palaiseau

Christophe Goupil

Professor LIED, Univ. Paris-Diderot

Michel Cataldi

Material Senior Expert Ariane Group, St Médard en Jalles

Antoine Maignan

Director of LABEX EMC3 CNRT, Caen 

Yann Lecocq

Director of LABEX First TF Observatoire de Paris, University PSL, Sorbonne University

Dominique Cros

Research deputy chairman of the University of Limoges

 Yves Gervais

Research deputy chairman of the University of Poitiers